Six schools receive $50,000 each to build computer science education programs

Gov. Kim Reynolds announced this week the six schools selected to each receive $50,000 grants through the Computer Science is Elementary project.

The project looks to transform six high-poverty elementary schools into models of innovative computer science instruction. The goal is to create opportunities for students and a statewide network of computer science expertise.

“Computer science is a new basic skill that’s required for success in a workforce constantly impacted by innovation and technology,” said Gov. Reynolds. “With tomorrow’s workers sitting in today’s classrooms, we must prepare our students to be continuous learners and adaptable for the disruptive economy of the future.”

The Computer Science is Elementary Project aligns with Future Ready Iowa, which sets the goal of 70 percent of the workforce having education or training beyond high school by the year 2025. The initiative also focuses on strengthening preK-12 education and career exploration and preparation.

The six schools that received $50,000 are:

  • Denison Elementary in the Denison Community School District
  • Lenihan Intermediate in the Marshalltown Community School District.
  • Cora B. Darling Elementary in the Postville Community School District.
  • East Union Elementary in the East Union Community School District.
  • Perry Elementary in the Perry Community School District.
  • Richardson Elementary in the Fort Madison Community School District

Loess Hills Computer Programming School, the inspiration for the Computer Science is Elementary project, also will receive a $50,000 grant to serve as a project resource.

The six selected schools, and Loess Hills Computer Programming School, will serve as a statewide resource for Iowa educators by sharing their curriculum and community engagement strategies.

The schools selected to receive the $50,000 planning grants will implement their programs no later than the 2020-21 school year with regular school funding.