Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

NewBoCo, partnership will lead to Iowa teachers teaching computer science

Over 30 Iowa teachers will learn how to teach computer science thanks to a partnership between NewBoCo and, according to a news release.

The teachers are accepted from all parts of Iowa and represent both urban and rural school districts.

The program starts June 18 with a five-day conference in Houston, Texas followed by online self-paced resources, four weekend workshops during the school year and an in-state computer science community building.

According to the release, a few school districts have teachers from both middle and high school levels attending the training.

The Osage School District has two teachers participating in the training.

“Our students will greatly benefit by our staff who will come back and allow students opportunities they would not otherwise have had,” Osage Superintendent Barb Schwamman said in the release.

NewBoCo is the only partner in the state and its K-12 Education Coordinator Samantha Dahlby says this provides students with a positive experience, even if they don’t want a technology related career.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for school districts in our state, especially at a time when Iowa is supporting the importance of studying computer science as a foundational experience even if students choose not to pursue a career in technology,” Dahlby said in the release.

Here is a complete list of the school districts with one or more teachers participating in either the Computer Science Discoveries or Computer Science Principles Professional Learning Program:

• Aplington-Parkersburg Community School District
• Carlisle Community School District
• Cedar Rapids Community School District
• College Community School District
• Des Moines Independent Community School District
• Eldora-New Providence Community School District
• Grundy Center Community School District
• Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn Community School District
• Interstate 35 Community School District
• New Hampton Community School District
• Osage Community School District
• River Valley Community School District
• Schaller-Crestland Community School District
• Shenandoah Community School District
• Sioux City Community School District
• South Tama County Community School District
• Tipton Community School District
• Treynor Community School District
• Union Community School District
• West Fork Community School District
• West Harrison Community School District
• Western Christian High School
• Winterset Community School District

• Xavier Catholic Schools

1 Comment

  • Ben Milne
    Posted June 17, 2017 at 3:45 pm

    This is really fantastic. NewBoCo is getting their hands into everything.

Comments are closed.

NewBoCo, partnership will lead to Iowa teachers teaching computer science | Clay & Milk
A central Iowa ag-tech accelerator has secured more backers and finally has a name. The Greater Des Moines Partnership first announced the accelerator last year, naming four initial investors. On Monday, the Partnership said the program will be called the "Iowa AgriTech Accelerator" and named three new investors. The new investors include Grinnell Mutual, Kent Corp. and Sukup Manufacturing, all Iowa companies. They join investors Deere & Co., Peoples Co., Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Co. and DuPont Pioneer. Each investor has agreed to put up $100,000 for the first year of the accelerator. Startups entering the program will receive $40,000 in seed funding in exchange for 6 percent equity. Tej Dhawan, an angel investor and local startup mentor, is serving as interim director until the AgriTech Accelerator names a permanent leader. Dhawan held a similar role with the GIA before Brian Hemesath was named as managing director. As interim director, Dhawan said his main job includes hiring the accelerator's executive director, establishing a business structure and initial recruiting for the first cohort. The accelerator will place few filters, such as location and product, on the applicant pool, Dhawan said. "When you’re seeking innovation, innovation can come from every corner of the world so why restrict ourselves," he said. One area the the AgriTech Accelerator won't recruit from is biotech. For its first cohort, the AgriTech Accelerator will work out of the GIA's space in Des Moines' East Village, Dhawan said. A future, permanent home is still to be decided. The accelerator's program will host startups from mid-July through mid-October, ending with an event connected to the annual World Food Prize. The GIA, which the AgriTech Accelerator is based on, also ends with presentations at an industry event. The accelerator has also started lining up a mentor pool. The Iowa Corn Growers Association, Iowa Soybean Association and the Iowa Pork Producers Association have agreed to provide mentors, as has Iowa State University. While the AgriTech Accelerator is loosely based off of the GIA, it will differ in its business structure, Dhawan said. The GIA runs through a for-profit model for both operations and its investment fund. The AgriTech Accelerator will have a nonprofit model for its operations and a for-profit setup for its fund. Dhawan said the nonprofit model is being used so the accelerator can better work with other nonprofit partners, such as trade associations. "These are all organizations that are nonprofits and can be amazing stakeholders without ever having to be investors in the accelerator," he said. "It becomes easier to work with trade associations in their nonprofit role when we are also a nonprofit." When it's up and running, the AgriTech Accelerator would be one of a handful of ag-focused startup development programs in Iowa. Others include the Ag Startup Engine out of Iowa State University and the Rural Ventures Alliance from Iowa MicroLoan. Matthew Patane is the managing editor and co-founder of Clay & Milk. Send him an email at
This Pop-up Is Included in the Theme
Best Choice for Creatives
Purchase Now